I’m tried to ignore my knee-jerk reaction to say ‘all of them!’ and actually thought about this one for a while before I answered it. There’s always changes needed to a book to make things work on screen, and there’s always going to be the issue of ‘but my [character X] doesn’t look like that’ – I always try to approach movie versions of books with the realisation this is just how one person, who isn’t me, sees this book.

So, with that in mind…

There’s things about the Harry Potter movies I disliked, there were changes to The Hunger Games and Twilight that didn’t work for me. There’s things in Divergent I would like to have seen on screen. Lord Of The Rings, The Hobbit, The Fault In Our Stars, Paper Towns, and so on, and so on, ad infinitum

But honestly, one that changed so much and really had me rankled was the movie of The Time Travellers Wife. When I first heard about the movie I was intrigued; how were they going to show Henry’s time travelling was my main thought. The answer it seems is ‘completely differently’. In the book, he disappears instantly but in the movie it’s this slow, almost dissolving disappearance.
It also feels like they completely changed the story of Henrys travelling – right from his first time.

So much of the relationship between Henry & Claire is – and I hate to use the word but – wrong in the movie. It’s almost like this romanticised idealistic version of their story, which could work for some people as a story but compared to the book was somewhat pale.

About Megs

I am a fan, a reader, a watcher, a listener. A budding writer and blogger.

One response

  1. Never did read the book or see the movie. Would really like to read it sometime though. I love things with time travel! And romance. XD

    But I feel you with movies based on books. Some can be fairly well while others are just…wrong. I remember being super disappointed in the one for Beautiful Creatures. They just changed so much.